Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Construction Coverages

Construction Risk and Insurance Specialist Designation


The Construction Risk and Insurance Specialist (CRIS) program is a specialized curriculum focusing on the insurance and risk management needs of construction projects and contractors.

To obtain the CRIS certification, you complete 5 specialized courses on construction risks and insurance and then pass the corresponding on-line examination. After successfully passing all parts of the CRIS curriculum (with a minimum of 70% per exam) the student is awarded the designation.

Courses Include:

  • Fundamentals of Construction Risk Management and Insurance
  • Commercial Auto, Surety, CIPs, and Miscellaneous Lines 
  • Commercial Liability Insurance for Contractors 
  • Contractual Risk Transfer in Construction 
  • Property Insurance for Contractors 
  • Workers Compensation for Contractors 

Once you earn the right to use the CRIS certification you must engage in an ongoing continuing education process to maintain it. This involved obtaining 7 hours of approved construction risk and insurance continuing education credit during the 12 months following initial receipt of the certification and every 12 months thereafter. You may obtain this CE credit by attending approved CRIS courses or conferences or completing online CRIS courses.



Learn more about the CRIS program.

Registration Information

Register Here

Self Study

Continuing Education